Gov. Abbott Names Stephanie Rubin to TX Early Learning Council

CEO of Texans Care for Children is Among 20 Experts Appointed to the Commission

For Immediate Release
Contact: Peter Clark, 512-473-2274

Austin – Governor Greg Abbott announced on Friday that he is appointing 20 individuals to the Texas Early Learning Council, including Stephanie Rubin, CEO of Texans Care for Children.


In his announcement, the Governor revealed that he named the following members to the Council: Katherine Abba, Ph.D., Sarah Abrahams, Courtney Arbour, Travis Armstrong, Ed.D., Weldon Beard, Terrie Breeden, April Crawford, Ph.D., Sam Eng, Alferma Giles, Ph.D., Melissa Horton, Beck Huss-Keeler, Ph.D., Ramah Leith, Jerletha McDonald, Dana McGrath, Jacquie Porter, Julie Richards, Teresa Robledo, Stephanie Rubin, Kierstan Schwab, and June Yeatman. The Governor named Jacquie Porter as chair of the Council and announced that Texas First Lady Cecilia Abbott will serve as honorary chair.

“I’m very grateful to the Governor for this opportunity to support early learning,” Ms. Rubin said after the announcement. “It’s an honor to join these early childhood experts. I’m excited to get to work with the Council to ensure more young Texas children are healthy, reaching their developmental goals, and ready to start school on day one with the skills they need to succeed.”

The Governor’s announcement outlined the following role for the Council:

The Texas Early Learning Council serves as Texas’ state advisory council as required by the federal Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of 2007. The Council utilizes its breadth of stakeholder representation to increase coordination and collaboration across state agencies and local program and service providers in order to improve the quality of and access to early childhood services across Texas. In 2019, the Council will lead a statewide birth-five needs assessment and strategic plan as part of Texas’ Preschool Development Grant project.

More information about the appointees is available in the Governor’s press release.