You are cordially invited to join us at our 13th Annual Founder's Award Luncheon


Sponsor Today

Ticket sales coming soon!

Event Info

Wednesday, March 6, 2019
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
JW Marriott Downtown Austin
110 East 2nd, Austin, TX 78701

Presenting the 2019 Founder's Award to

Dr. Wayne Carson & Dr. Octavio N. Martinez, Jr.


Dr. Wayne Carson

Dr. Wayne Carson has served as CEO of the Fort Worth-based non-profit ACH Child and Family Services (ACH) for 18 years. During that time he has been a leader in providing critical services to children and families in several North Texas counties to prevent and treat child abuse, neglect, homelessness, and family separation. In particular, through his vocal policy advocacy and work on ACH’s Community Based Care model, Dr. Carson has been a leader in working to ensure that children in foster care receive the support they need to be healthy and successful.


Dr. Octavio N. Martinez, Jr.

Dr. Octavio N. Martinez, Jr. is the Executive Director of the Hogg Foundation for Mental Health at the University of Texas at Austin. In Texas and nationwide, Dr. Martinez has been a leader in supporting the mental health of children and families and eliminating racial disparities through research, community initiatives, and public policy. Through the Hogg Mental Health Policy Academy and as a college professor, Dr. Martinez also has played a key role in cultivating the next generation of mental health advocates.


About the Founder's Award Luncheon

The Texans Care for Children Founder’s Award Luncheon brings together supporters, advocates, and special guests to celebrate Texans working to make a big difference in the lives of Texas children. The Founder’s Award is dedicated to our founder, Phil Strickland, and his work to make our state the best it can be for children and families.

Past honorees include: Governor Dolph Briscoe, Governor Mark and Linda Gale White, The Honorable Jane Nelson, The Honorable Patrick Rose, The Honorable Harriet O’Neill, Charles Butt, Eleanor Butt Crook, Patricia and Robert Ayres, Barbara Baugh, Bryan Sperry, Lester Meriwether, Elizabeth Tucker, Joyce James, Dr. Clift Price, Libby Doggett, Mary Jalonick, and Dr. Lisa Hollier.

Contact us

Can't attend or sponsor? Click here to donate. Have questions? Call us at 512-473-2274 or email Daniel Sanchez at